Departments

Scroll down for more information

Greenwood Elementary School is organized into departments that supplement academic programs and student services. Each department is composed of dedicated experts in their fields who are committed to serving our students and their families.

To find out more about the departments, contact them, or access resources provided by these teams, click the tabs below to find out more.

Art Teacher | Aimee Georgitsis | aimee.georgitsis@warwickschools.org

The Greenwood Elementary School Art department creates rich and engaging experiences and opportunities for all learners. A successful art program not only fosters many areas of growth in myriad ways, it helps students see and understand visual arts in different ways. Students begin to develop an aesthetic sense and understanding of their own design and see the potential in their own skills. They forge a sense of visual literacy that promotes individuality and critical thinking skills.

At Greenwood Elementary, we want our students to experience the reward and joy of art that is both technically and spiritually expressive.

Science Teacher | Pamela Caito | pamela.caito@warwickschools.org
Science Teacher | Erin Harnedy | erin.harnedy@warwickschools.org

The goal of elementary science is to provide young learners with an introduction to our natural world geared toward promoting both a literacy and an enthusiasm that will engage them throughout their lives. “Hands on” teaching methods are applied as a means to convey the basic skills necessary for scientific processes and investigation. Teachers present an approach centered on observation, measuring, and classification to foster the students progress in acquiring skills which will help them apply concepts and utilize that knowledge in a meaningful way in their future years of education.

Music Teacher | Jessica Mathias | jessica.mathias@warwickschools.org
Instrumental Teacher | Glenn Shaffer | glenn.shaffer@warwickschools.org

Music education is a vital part of Greenwood Elementary’s curriculum. Young learners show innumerable benefits from the exposure to music and the concepts of music making and music theory. Music education programs help young learners scholastic development in myriad ways as students not only take inspiration from the music but see lessons from other classes – math, science, english, social studies – echoed in song. They develop appreciation for human potential in the musicians they hear and seek to find and realize their own musical gifts.

Special Education Teacher

Intensive K-3 | Jeffrey Lockhart | jeff.lockhart@warwickschools.org
Intensive 406 | Sean McElroy| sean.mcelroy@warwickschools.org
Resource K-4 | Claudia Penza |claudia.penza@warwickschools.org
Resource 4-6 | Kerry Silvia | kerry.silvia@warwickschools.org
Teaching Assistant Intensive K-3 | Bonnie Ruzzo | bonnie.ruzzo@warwickschools.org
Teaching Assistant Intensive K-3 | Maureen Mottola | maureen.mottola@warwickschools.org
Teaching Assistant Intensive 4-6 | Edward Ferreira | edward.Ferreira@warwickschools.org
Teaching Assistant Intensive 4-6 | MIchael Reynolds | michael.reynolds@warwickschools.org
Teaching Assistant 1:1 Intensive K-3 | MaryBeth Theriault | mary-beth.theriault@warwickschools.org
Speech Pathologist | Sharon D’Antuono | sharon.d’antuono@warwickschools.org
Occupational Therapist | Tania Alexander | tania.alexander@warwickschools.org

Federal and State Regulations that require the district to provide a free and appropriate public education in the least restrictive environment for students with disabilities govern the Warwick Public School System. The Special Education Department has in place a referral and evaluation process that addresses each child who might be in need of Special Education services. When a determination is made that a child qualifies for Special Education Services, there are a range of services and programs to meet the unique needs of each child.

Physical Education/Health Teacher | Dawn Romans | dawn.romans@warwickschools.org

Library Media Specialist | Mary Jeanne Leeman | mary-jeanne.leeman@warwickschools.org

Greenwood Elementary School has a wonderful selection of fiction and non-fiction books at every reading level. Students are encouraged to check out books on a weekly basis. Borrowed books should be returned on time and in good condition. Any damaged books can be returned to the librarian for repair, however it is the responsibility of the parent to reimburse the school for any books that are damaged beyond repair or lost. If necessary, final report cards will be held until either book or replacement costs are submitted.

 

Warwick Public Library Website

School Nurse | Janet Ward | janet.ward@warwickschools.org

Social Worker | Julie Martin | julie.martin@warwickschools.org

Psychologist | Erin McQuade | erin.mcquade@warwickschools.org

Head Custodian | Betty O’Leary | betty.o’leary@warwickschools.org
CustodianErica Oliver | erica.oliver@warwickschools.org

Reading Teacher | Mary Koziol | mary.koziol@warwickschools.org